Whitfield, Small, Richardson run to podium finishes at Marathon Trail Championships


results & photos

On Sunday (3-Nov) nineteen (19) Coloradans participated in the 2019 USATF Marathon Trail Championships in Moab, Utah.  The championships were held in conjunction with the Moab Trail Marathon for the seventh year in a row.  A total of 36 athletes from 12 states competed in the championships.  
In the women's race Tara Richardson, 28, of Glenwood Springs earned a trip to the awards podium as she placed third running 3:56:43.  The race was won by Chessa Adsit-Morris of California in 3:40:31 with Oregon's Collier Lawrence just two minutes ahead of Richardson.

In Their Words - Tara Richardson
The Moab Trail Marathon is a fantastic championship course. You get everything thrown at you from sand, big climbs, technical descents, ropes and ladders. It is a real test of your fitness and trail running abilities. If anyone is up for a challenging course where there is never a dull moment I highly recommend this race!

Finishing fourth in the women's race was Kylee Van Horn, 33, of Carbondale, CO in 4:04:19.  Glenda Lainis, 62 of Boulder picked up a silver medal as she placed second in the masters 60-64 division.

While the Colorado women made a statement with their great running on Sunday the men made a BOLD statement as they filled eight of the top 10 places in the men's competition and won four national titles in the masters competition.  The men's race was won by Adam Peterman of Montana in 2:57:28.  The next eight finishers were all from the Centennial state.  Training partners at Western Colorado University in Gunnison, Brian Whitfield, 23, and Jeshurun Small, 21, finished second and third, respectively to lead the Colorado charge.  Both are seniors at the university, run on the Western Colorado University Trail Running Team, and have run this race previously mentioning it as their favorite event.  Their times were 3:08:54 and 3:10:19.

In Their Words - Brian Whitfield
This was my third time racing the MTM so coming in I thought I knew what the course would throw at me but, every year Im reminded how hard this course is. My training leading up to the race was not ideal but I am happy with a personal best on this course.

They were followed by Ryan Becker (4th, 3:15:51, Boulder), Jeason Murphy (5th, 3:17:55, Glenwood Springs), Michael Barlow (6th, 3:18:52, Aspen), Kieran Nay (7th, 3:22:22, Gunnison), Joshua Eberly (8th, 3:22:39, Gunnison), and Andrew Wise (9th, 3:33:16, Denver).  

Winning national masters titles were Dan Vega (50-54) of Colorado Springs; Dan Nielson (55-59) of Avon; Randall Emmons (65-69) of Alamosa; and Bill Faulkner (75-79) of Broomfield.
Next year's marathon trail championships are slated to once again be held in Moab.  The 2020 date is November 7.

media services by